English | தமிழ்


While Ithihasas, Puranas and Agamas are for masses, the Darsans are for the intellectual scholars. The sages have condensed their thoughts in the form of laconic verses (aphorisms) in Darsans. Hence it is very difficult to understand them without the help of commentaries. This is the reason various commentaries are provided by later sages. There are 6 Darsans called ‘shat darsanas’: 1. Nyaya founded by sage Gautama, 2.Vaiseshika by sage Kanada, 3. Sankhya by sage Kapila Muni, 4. Yoga by Patanjali Maharshi, 5. Purva Mimamsa by Jaimini, and 6.Uttara Mimamsa or Vedanta by sage Vyasa.